Forums General Topics General Brewing Discussions Metallic Taste – AGAIN!

This topic contains 4 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  benleongnz 1 month, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Luke Birmingham
    Participant

I’ve been using a BrewMaster for the last 18 months.

I’ve finished about 15 brews:

– only 2 have finished up as a 7/10 (no other flavours)
    – most have had a strong metallic flavour, and a ripe smell
    – a few have had the metallic taste but been just drinkable (usually throw out the last few litres)

I clean, sanitise and completed a thorough sanitising clean, more than once…and still get this metalic taste
    I’ve gone through plenty of WW product taking note of the use by dates… even the newest product has the same results
    I’ve changed water supply, and even used purified water… same result.

I would love for someone to tell me that I’m not cleaning it well enough…because then it would be a fairly straight forward issue to solve!

I’ve read some blogs that suggest a metallic taste usually comes from something metal, but the machine is as per the factory.

I just brewed a Summer Ale and that horrid taste is back to haunt me. Help!

Nolan
    Participant

As far as I know, the BrewMaster is entirely build from Stainless Steel…
    Apart from knobs, lids, seals, sediment bottles etc.
    As you have already changed water supply, there should be no metal taste whatsoever.

Personally, I am using the BrewKeg and have never encountered any metal flavours.

What is the taste like ? Biting on a peace of aluminium-foil ? Or eating a penny ?

Stainless Steel is seen as the best component in brewing and the best insurance
    against metallic flavours.

I presume the LME’s in the WilliamsWarn BrewKits, are still coming in Metal Tins ?
    Hope those LME’s are not contaminated ?

Just to make sure, try some LME in plastic containers, like Briess Malt etc.
    Or, brew some All-Grain-Beer.